The Secret that Oem Printer Companies Are Keeping From You

Toner News Mobile Forums Latest Industry News The Secret that Oem Printer Companies Are Keeping From You

Date: Tuesday September 11, 2012 08:43:56 am
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • Anonymous
    Inactive

The Secret that Oem Printer Companies Are Keeping From You

Just follow the ink trail to the money.
    People with inkjet printers have all considered, if not tried, clone inks from third-party vendors. It’s way cheaper, often by as much as 90 percent.

I will say—and printer companies do not like hearing this— that I have been playing with various brands of clone inks for 20 years and I’ve never experienced any of the problems that you commonly read about in forums, like clogged heads or ruined warranties. "Only use the brand name meant for the printer!"

Until recently, you could buy a new printer for the cost of replacement ink. It’s obvious that the printers were the loss leaders for the ink business. In reality, these are not printer companies, these are ink companies.

Now, to prevent people from buying a new printer for the price of a refill kit, companies have replaced the full cartridge sets with a sort of starter kit. The user needs to buy a second set of ink almost immediately.

Printer ink companies are also monopolizing ink cartridges for as long as they can. This means there are all sorts of different sizes and shapes of the cartridges themselves. I challenge anyone with an inkjet printer to find their ink at an Office Depot. The ink aisle is a mile long and there are hundreds of cartridges to choose from, each one compatible with a very narrow line of printers.