T.I.C:The Latest Lawsuit: Throne of Gold or Seat of Twigs?

Toner News Mobile Forums Latest Industry News T.I.C:The Latest Lawsuit: Throne of Gold or Seat of Twigs?

Date: Thursday March 8, 2012 07:52:48 am
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • Anonymous
    Inactive

The Latest Lawsuit: Throne of Gold or Seat of Twigs?

There is a basic rule applied when writing: ask a question, and put forward an answer. It is a basic formula and one I try to adhere to. In this case, I can only ask more questions.

How will the latest lawsuit affect the entire industry?

I am not a legal expert, and I have very little exposure into the third party toner niche, but I am curious.

I hear about lawsuits of this genre all the time – it seems since 1999, I have read monthly headlines about Canon suing somebody over toner formulas or melting processes or some issue. Like many, I became numb and assumed the players recognized legal defense as operational overhead.

So at first, when I read about Canon suing “dozens” over a gear-thingie, I ignored it. Then I researched deeper and discovered what appears to be a difference. Canon has been suing smaller companies for years but this current suit is large, international and follows a similar, smaller and successful legal excursion against Ninestar.

Again, I am not well versed in patent law – what interests me are two issues:

1. Timing
    2. General reaction

Timing