From Near-Bankruptcy To Sucess as A Toner Cartridge Manufacturer

Toner News Mobile Forums Toner News Main Forums From Near-Bankruptcy To Sucess as A Toner Cartridge Manufacturer

Date: Tuesday January 27, 2015 12:07:35 pm
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • news
    Keymaster

From Near-Bankruptcy To Sucess as A Toner Cartridge Manufacturer
     Dubai businessman learnt lessons from near-bankruptcy
    By Sananda Sahoo

Sassan Dieter Khatib Shahidi is the co-founder and chief executive of German Imaging Technologies (GIT), a toner cartridge manufacturer in Dubai that launched in 1999. The 47-year-old German-Iranian says the company’s fortunes have been eventful. GIT now has 80 employees.

Describe your financial journey so far.

I was educated as a corporate attorney and started by practising in Frankfurt in one of the top-10 law firms. By 26, I was earning more than Dh300,000 a year and was well-off as an employed person. After 10 years of working as a lawyer, I changed careers and became an entrepreneur. I used to come to Dubai on business trips, as my expertise was the Middle East. In 1999, along with two co-founders, I set up GIT with Dh1.5 million from our own funds. Low labour costs and taxation advantages in Dubai were attractive. We started by catering to one company, which was in Germany. But in 2000, it went bankrupt and we accumulated debt of about Dh2.5 million. I personally had US$20 in my pocket and we could not pay salaries for five months. We started with 40 staff members and went down to nine employees. We still have five or six employees from that time who believed in our vision. In the past five years, the company’s average growth rate was 25 per cent per year in revenue.
    https://m1.behance.net/rendition/modules/35752561/disp/cb7035f0719b7f5346214964e039a861.jpg

Are you a spender or saver?